Real Estate Information Archive


Displaying blog entries 1-2 of 2

Sellers Might be Exempt on State Transfer Tax

by Group One Realty Team - Real Estate One

With lower property values due to our struggling economy, many homeowners have been able to take advantage of an exemption contained in the Michigan Transfer Tax Act.  If a seller meets the criteria, they would be exempt from paying the state transfer tax.  Following are the criteria:

  1. The property must have been occupied as a principle residence – classified as homestead property.
  2. The property’s SEV for the calendar year in which the transfer is made must be less than or equal to the property’s SEV for the calendar year in which the seller acquired the property.
  3. The property cannot be transferred for consideration exceeding its “true cash value” for the year of the transfer.

For example:
If the SEV of the homestead principle residence when acquired in 2005 is $100,000 and the current SEV on the property is $90,000, then the first two criteria have been met.  To establish the “true cash value” of the property, you must double the current SEV at the time of transfer.  In this scenario, the true cash value would be $180,000.  If the property sold for $170,000, then the 3rd criteria has been met of Exemption “u” as designated by the Michigan Transfer Tax Act.

If you believe you may be eligible, you have up to 4 years from the transfer date to file for the exemption.  It is also important to note that there are no similar exemptions in the County Real Estate Transfer Tax Act.

To see if you as a seller are eligible, please contact our office for a copy of the “Transfer Tax Exemption Worksheet.”   

As always, thank you for your consideration and referrals.

New and Existing Owner Tax Credit Program Update

by Group One Realty Team - Real Estate One

Tax Credit has passed the Senate and the house!  It is now going to the President for his signature. 


Tax break for Buying a Home

The legislation also would extend the $8,000 homebuyer tax credit to contracts signed by April 30 and closed by June 30. The controversial credit, which many say has boosted home sales in recent months, was set to expire after Nov. 30.

The bill also creates a $6,500 credit for those who buy a home after living in their current house at least five years. That measure would apply to contracts signed by April 30 and closed by June 30. The current credit defines a first-time homebuyer as someone who has not owned a residence within the past three years.

The credit would be available only for the purchase of principal residences priced at $800,000 or less.

The bill would raise the adjusted gross income cap to $125,000 for single filers and $225,000 for joint filers. The amount of the credit currently begins to phase out for taxpayers whose adjusted gross income is more than $75,000, or $150,000 for joint filers.

Displaying blog entries 1-2 of 2